A little bit of background

I graduated in 2007 with my B. A. in Psychology and my B.F.A. in Painting and Drawing from the University of Kansas. As an undergrad, I worked as a teaching assistant in an elementary school based in behavioral sciences, and discovered I really enjoyed working with children. Through this opportunity, I began volunteering with children’s art classes at the Spencer Museum of Art and the Lawrence Arts Center. I became fascinated with children’s drawings and began collecting images, when possible, and eventually documented stories, in detail, children would reveal about their images. This fascination ended up becoming a collection of work for one of my senior studio projects.

I moved to NYC after graduation to experience a new type of lifestyle which I imagined would be filled with diverse communities, opportunities, and a juicy world of visual and performing arts to explore. Well, like with anything, it hasn’t been as simple, easy, or flawless as I initially fantasized. I spent a year working in an editorial office for a nonprofit health organization. Although, it was an experience in itself, I knew I didn’t want to be in an office. When I found out I was accepted into Pratt Institute’s Creative Arts Therapy program I was delighted beyond belief.

Today, I am one week in on my first year as a graduate student. This year I will be interning as an Art Therapy Assistant in an special education setting working with elementary-aged children facing severe emotional disturbances and developmental challenges.

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under art therapy, Pratt

Leave a Reply

